LOK SABHA ELECTIONS 2014 : First-hand analysis of Ferozepur

In the final Lok Sabha elections 2014 results declared today, Sher Singh Ghubaya, a candidate of Akali-BJP alliance in Punjab have won the seat by 31420 votes with narrow margin than expected,defeating his nearest rival Congress candidate Sunil Kumar Jakhar, sitting MLA and CLP leader.
The partywise/candidatewise detail is Ghubaya SAD/BJP 487932, Jakhar/Congress 456512, Kamboj/AAP 113412, Ram Kumar/BSP 22274, Mand/SAD(A) 3655, Independents Raj Gill/Ind. 3311, Manoj Kumar Monga 1896, Punjab Singh Katwal 1759, Rajinder Bhatheja 1546, Chanan Singh Wattu 1237, Gurjant Singh 1088, Paramjeet Singh Desal 976, Swaran Singh 766, Sampuran Singh 682, Baljinder Singh/BGTD 681.
The first time introduced NOTA (None of the above) button over the EVM machines has used by 7685 voters.
Number of factors are said to be reasons behind the winning the seat by Sher Singh Ghubaya. The important among them are being a sitting MP, secondly from the constituency of Jalalabad represented by Sukhbir Singh Badal, Dy. CM for which he vacated the seat form him in the Assembly elections, thirdly the Modi wave throughout the country and fourthly AAP factor which has eaten more than one lakh vote in this constituency which none was expecting except 30-40 thousands.
On the other hand, the Jakhar, who was considered a better and educated candidate has given a tough fight to Ghubaya, has mainly been affected by Satnam Pal Kamboj, AAP candidate who secured 1,13,412 votes. The winning margin for Ghubaya could have been more, had AAP not eaten the votes beyond one’s expectation. The internal rift of the Congress party and non-giving of party ticket to Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi, Congress MLA from Guruharsaahi could also be reasons for loss to Sunil Kumar Jakhar as the lead has been taken by Ghubaya from Ferozepur Rural, Guruahrsahai and Muktsar where the Congress workers on the day of polling were lacking to purusue the voters.
Next Post »